From the Archives.....some Gort history   05/11/2011

Gort's first county title goes back to the 1914 County Championship, when they faced the reigning county champions of Woodford. This final was actually played on 29th June in 1915 in Athenry in front of a large crowd. We dont know the actual score in terms of goals and points, but Gort did pull off a surprise by winning by an aggregate of 27 points to 18 points.

Gort lost the following year's final to Craughwell, but bounced back again for the 1916 championship. In that 1916 final played in 1917, they defeated a very strong Kilconieron side by 4-4 to 2-3.

In 1950, a Josie Gallagher inspired Gort side reached the final, with Castlegar being the opponents. Unfortunately this day did not go Gorts way and they were fairly comprehensively beaten by Castlegar 9-3 to Gort's 0-2. This game was played in Ballinasloe on 1st Oct 1950, and proved a bit of a disappointment to the large crowd. Cashel had the advantage of a stiff breeze in the first half, and led at the interval by 5-1 to 0-1, but the expected secod half rally from Gort never materialised.
The Gort team that day was:
T. Roche (later replaced by F. Reidy), M. Nestor, L. Forde, V. Maloney, T. Lambert, T. Kelly, G. Piggott, W. Fahy, J. Keane, J. Madden, J. Gallagher, J. Spellman, T. Howard, T. Staunton, P. Piggott.

Gort beat Kiltormer in the 1981 final, and were back again in 1983, for a chance at another crack at Castlegar in a county final. This time the day belonged to the south Galway men as they won on a scoreline of Gort 2-12 to Castlegar's 3-6.
The winning side in 1983 was:
John Commins, Josie Harte (Capt), John Nolan, Joe Regan, Michael Brennan, Pearse Piggott 0-1, Sylvie Linnane, Michael Cahill, Colie Rock, Gerry Lally 0-7 (0-6 frees), Patsy Hehir 0-1, John Crehan, Mattie Murphy 0-2, Brian Brennan 1-1, Gerry Linnane 1-0.
Subs on were P. Neilan for M. Brennan, and M. Linnane for M. Murphy.

Main Sponsors

Supporters Club

Prediction League