Skehana GAA AGM report   20/12/2012

The AGM of the club was held on Sunday last, December 16th in Costello's bar, Skehana. Outgoing chairman James Hoade welcomed the sizeable attendance to the meeting and commenced with a minutes silence for current and former club members who passed away over the past twelve months. In his address James reflected on the year past and thanked all the various club officers, managers and players for their efforts throughout the year. James also acknowledged the excellent work being undertaken by the Juvenile Club in continuing to increase participation numbers at all grades from U-8 upwards, which he noted was an essential aspect of any successful club.

Outgoing secretary Ferghal Costello gave a comprehensive report of activities on the field during the year, noting in particular the achievements of the junior team in capturing the Junior 1 title for the first time. The subsequent defeat in the Connacht Junior final was noted as the major disappointment of the year. Ferghal also acknowledged the significant development in fielding a minor team in 2012 for the first time in six years, which contributed to the success of the junior team as a number of minor players had subsequently made the step-up to adult grade later in the year.

Outgoing treasurer Damian Costello then presented a very detailed treasurer's report which once again highlighted the significant costs faced by the club on an annual basis. Damian noted that the Club had been funded predominantly by membership subscriptions and he thanked the club members for their continued support in this regard. He thanked our main sponsor Ferghal Costello for his provision of a new set of adult jerseys during the year, while also acknowledging the very generous sponsorship received from local businesses Galway Fire Equipment (Pat and Teresa Carty) and Costello Bus Hire (Tomás and Bernie Costello).

The following officers were elected for the coming year:~ President: Tommy Hansberry (Windfield Rd.); Vice-Presidents: Mickey Hansberry and Tommy Hansberry (Guilka); Chairman: James Hoade; Vice-Chairman: Ferghal Costello; Secretary: Sean Holohan; Asst Secretary: Gabriel Costello; Treasurer: Damian Costello; Asst Treasurer: John Hansberry; P.R.O: Tomás Hansberry; County Board Delegates: P.J. Flaherty and Tomás Holian.

In addition to the above, the following people were elected to the Club Executive:~ Jarlath Connolly, Jarlath Fahy, Paul Curley, Martin Warde and John Mannion.

The position of junior team manager was held over for a later date, pending the conclusion of the 2012 league campaign, which is currently at the quarter final stage. Michael Melia was elected as manager of the minor team for the coming year and he received the best wishes of all present as he accepted this very important role within the club.

Following the conclusion of the various elections, a very constructive and positive discussion followed on various aspects of club administration including the Players Injury Scheme, allocation of All-Ireland tickets and match-day presentation of our various teams. A number of important motions were put forward and passed which can only have a positive impact on the club for the years ahead.

Membership for the coming year will remain at the current rate of €30 for adults and €20 for students, which was acknowledged by all present as excellent value. It was also confirmed at the meeting that a recent Bye-Law introduced at County Board level will ensure that only members of GAA clubs will be eligible to receive tickets from the Galway allocation for major inter-county games. On this basis, chairman James Hoade encouraged existing members to actively promote the club membership amongst family and friends over the coming weeks. Membership is now open for 2013 which will again include membership to the club's Euromillions syndicate for the first 300 club members. All those wishing to become members for the coming year can do so by contacting any of the club officers over the next two weeks.

The final order of business was the Bonus Draw for club members. Congratulations to Gerry Jordan, Padraig Scanlon and Oliver Ruane who were the first three names out of the hat and will be receiving their "One4All" vouchers just in time for the Christmas shopping!

Chairman James Hoade concluded the meeting by thanking all present for their attendance and active participation and he looked forward to another exciting year ahead.

Main Sponsors

Supporters Club

Prediction League